Specialty Sections

Specialty Sections were created in 2021 to create a space for LHS+ pre-medical, medical students, alumni, and FPAC (e.g. faculty and physicians), who are interested in the same specialty, to network and discuss personal, professional, and academic-related concerns and opportunities.

Registration Link for Senior Faculty (preferably Department Chairs and Full Professors) to Serve as Specialty Section Chairs

Registration Link for Pre-Medical Students, Medical Students, Residents, Fellows, and Faculty to Register for Specific Specialty Sections

SPECIALTYSECTION CHAIRRESOURCE(S)
Anesthesiology
Ruben Azocar, MD, MHCH, FASA, FCCM
rjazocar@bidmc.harvard.edu
Access Anesthesiology
Career Compass HERE
Cell Biology/Physiology
Hector Rasgado-Flores, PhD, MSc
hector.rasgado@rosalindfranklin.edu
Emergency Medicine
Esther X. Vivas, MD
evivas@emory.edu
Access Emergency Medicine
Career Compass HERE
Family Medicine
Shirley Sharp DO, MS, FACOFP
shsharp@augusta.edu
Access Family Medicine
Career Compass HERE
Internal MedicineECarrillo375.jpg
Emilio Carrillo MD, MPH
carrillojuanemilio@gmail.com
Access Internal Medicine
Career Compass HERE
Neurology
Reena Thomas, MD, PhD
reenat@stanford.edu
Access Neurology
Career Compass HERE
Obstetrics & Gynecology
Rolando De Leon, MD
rdeleon1@nova.edu
Access OB/GYN
Career Compass HERE
Orthopaedics
Selina Silva, MD
ssilva@salud.unm.edu
Access Orthopaedic Surgery
Career Compass HERE
Pediatricsernando Mendoza, M.D., M.P.H.
Fernando Mendoza, MD, MPH
Fernando.Mendoza@stanford.edu
Access Pediatrics
Career Compass HERE
Physical Medicine & Rehabilitationonica Verduzco-Gutierrez, MD (@MVGutierrezMD) / Twitter
Monica Verduzco-Gutierrez, MD 
gutierrezm19@uthscsa.edu
Access PM&R
Career Compass HERE
Psychiatry & Behavioral Science
Francisco Moreno, MD
fmoreno@email.arizona.edu
Access Psychiatry
Career Compass HERE
Radiology
Orlando Ortiz, MD, MBA
doctoroortiz@gmail.com
Access Diagnostic Radiology
Career Compass HERE


Access Interventional Radiology
Career Compass HERE
Surgery (Transplant Surgery)
Jorge Ortiz MD
jortiz2@ecmc.edu
Access Surgery
Career Compass HERE
Urology
Marcelino Rivera, MD
Jr. Section Chair
mrivera7@iuhealth.org
Access Urology
Career Compass HERE
SPECIALTYCAREER ADVISORRESOURCE(S)
MedPeds
Victor Cueto, MD
vcueto@miami.edu
Access MedPeds
Career Compass HERE
ENT
Access ENT
Career Compass HERE
Dermatology
Silviana Pugliese, MD
spuglies@stanford.edu
Access Dermatology
Career Compass HERE
Ophthalmology
Victor Villegas, MD
victor.villegas@upr.edu
Access Ophthalmology
Career Compass HERE